Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Free Webinar on Preserving Family Archives

To help celebrate Preservation Week, this year taking place from April 27 to May 3, the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services is presenting a free Webinar, "Low-cost Ways to Preserve Family Archives."  The Webinar is intended for "[a]nyone interested in practical ways of preserving archival collections, including family collectors, and curators and custodians of small to medium libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, and town offices."  It is heartening to see family collectors listed with professionals as being among those interested in preserving the past.

The Webinar will discuss risks that archives face from the environment and from being handled, and some practical, low-cost ways to protect items and maintain them for future generations.

The Webinar will be broadcast on Tuesday, April 29, 2014, at 11:00 a.m. Pacific/12:00 noon Mountain/1:00 p.m. Central/2:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time.  Register here.

The sponsor of the Webinar is Archival Products, so I am sure their products will be featured in at least some of the preservation methods.

Thanks to Dear Myrtle and GeneaWebinars for posting about this Webinar!

3 comments:

  1. In case you missed this Webinar, or if you want to watch it again, it has been posted online, along with a PDF file of the slides:

    Webinar Materials

    • Webinar Recording - http://downloads.alcts.ala.org/ce/20140429_Low_Cost_Ways_to_Preserve_Family_Archives.wmv

    You need to have Windows Media software on your computer to view the recording.

    How to Troubleshoot a Codec Error:
    The codec acts as a patch that allows the recording, which is created with a higher version of Media Player, to play in version 7. If you receive a codec error when playing the recorded file with Windows Media Player, go to the following web page and download the free G2M2 codec file: http://www.gotomeeting.com/codec .

    • Presentation Slides – http://downloads.alcts.ala.org/ce/20140429_Low_Cost_Ways_to_Preserve_Family_Archives.pdf

    ReplyDelete
  2. Excellent and helpful post… I am so glad to left comment on this. This has been a so interesting ..I appreciate your effort..

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am glad you found the information helpful.

      Delete

All comments on this blog will be previewed by the author to prevent spammers and unkind visitors to the site. The blog is open to everyone, particularly those interested in family history and genealogy.